How to delete your Yahoo! data and shut down your account?

06/21/2020

Even after making so much effort and adding new features to its email service, Yahoo is still not able to win the race as there are many others giving a tough competition. Keeping this aside, Yahoo has always been able to make headlines and this time it's because of the extended hacking attempts. Over time the number of hacked Yahoo user accounts has got up from 500 million to 1 billion. This could be one of the reasons for which yahoo users have been forced to delete the yahoo account.

There can be several other reasons for which to stop using your Yahoo account and delete it forever.

  1. If you have so many email accounts.
  2. If you don't log in to Yahoo often.
  3. If the features you are looking for are not there in Yahoo.
  4. If you don't find Yahoo secure enough.

And several other reasons.

If you are also looking for easy ways to know how to delete yahoo email account to terminate your yahoo account or get rid of the email service, this guide will help you in getting familiar with the steps to be taken.

The process to Delete Yahoo Account

  1. First, go to the Yahoo Account Termination page.
  2. Login to your yahoo account using the username and password.
  3. Next, enter the captcha code you see on the screen to verify your identity.
  4. Hit 'Yes' to delete your account and you will be directed towards a confirmation page to successfully delete your account.

Additional Information about Yahoo Account Deletion

If you have finally decided to delete yahoo email account, you want to know what you are going to lose and will not be able to recover forever. You will permanently lose the rights to access your Yahoo ID, Yahoo mail data, Yahoo Address Book data, Yahoo Small Business Data, Yahoo GeoCities Data, Yahoo Briefcase data, and other services of Yahoo that you were using.

Make sure you have nothing to lose before you hit the 'Delete' button for your Yahoo account. You can download or export the important documents or files that are stored in your Yahoo account to any other email service that you use.

Also, remember that it takes somewhere around 90 days to overall the deletion process by Yahoo. So if you need to get the data deleted instant, then you can manually delete the emails, contacts to get it removed from the servers before you proceed towards the yahoo account termination process.

After the period is over, you may not be able to recover the account's data even if you want it urgent. The only option left is to create a new Yahoo email account, so it is better to reconsider your decision of deleting the account before taking the final step.

Some of the details may remain there in the Yahoo records as per their policies even after you have completely deleted the Yahoo account. You can get knowledge about this by visiting Yahoo's data storage and anonymization support page.